SRC’s Board of Directors consists of community, business, civil rights, academic and legal professionals. Board President, Charles S. Johnson III, is an attorney and community advocate. He practices at Holland and Knight, LLP located in Atlanta, GA. His areas of focus include business disputes and public policy. Mr. Johnson’s passion for equality and humane treatment for all people spurred his SRC involvement over a decade years ago. As Board President, Mr. Johnson’s commitment to SRC’s role in fighting for racial justice led him to initiate a 19 month reorganization resulting in a complete institutional assessment and comprehensive strategic plan.

Together, the SRC Board and leadership adopted the five year Strategic Plan (2007-2012). SRC leadership remains committed to its full implementation.


Charles S. Johnson, III (President)
Holland & Knight LLP

Marjorie Bekaert Thomas (Vice President)
Ivanhoe Broadcast News

Matthew M. Winston, Jr. (Vice President )
Assistant to the President
University of Georgia

Judy Tabb (Secretary)
Founding Partner
Carr, Tabb, Pope & Freeman, LLP


Leland Ware (Vice President)
Vice President
University of Delaware

Henry R. Chalmers (General Counsel)
General Counsel
Arnall Golden & Gregory, LLP

John M. Grayson (Treasurer)
Grayson Accounting & Consulting, P.A.



Stephen K. Benjamin
Benjamin Law Firm, L.L.C.

Dr. Maurice Daniels
Associate Dean
School of Social Work

Tony Dunbar
Capital One Bank

Imam Plemon El-Amin
Atlanta Masjid of Al-Islam

Amy S. Gellins

Odetta MacLeish-White
Springmount Legacy, Inc.

Cheryl Hudson Wright
Bingham McCutchen, LLP

Samuel Tito Jackson
Economic Empowerment Initiative, Inc.

Click here to download the list of board members.